Lessons learned from liveblogging


As some of you might have learned, I’ve liveblogged the Pacquiao-Cotto fight. It was fortunate that we recently subscribed to a cable provider and our issues with our internet connection were resolved prior to the scheduled fight. I was so excited because this was my first time blogging an event live. I was all ready–drinks, laptop, iPhone for the quick photos among others.

live blogging

Liveblogging set-up at home

I decided to do the liveblogging on Plurk as it will save me time to update my other social networks such as Facebook and Twitter. It was very exciting to watch the fight and it was also an exhilirating experience to blog about it live. My fingers were running numb as I plurked/twitted live and typed blindly (My eyes were stuck watching the event as my fingers were very busy doing their work. :)). Pacquiao won the fight, which earned him a place in boxing history.

Live blogging about the event reminded me of my days when I was writing for a major daily back home. I used to watch a live game of a defunct basketball association and race against time to submit my story onsite. The challenge back then was to draft your story within 5 minutes and beat the submission of the regular sports writer of the paper. Writing a sports article is no walk in the park as you need to bring your readers to that moment. The article must be lively as possible. The verbs that you use should translate into more than action words, it should create an illusion that the readers are watching the event as it takes place.

With the microblogging platform such as twitter and plurk, liveblogging about any event has become easy but still challenging. Highlighting the most important aspect of the moment is a big task plus the need to adequately describe the moment and bring your readers into the ringside.

After more than 40 plurks about the event, my plurk karma slid so fast that I didn’t realised that I lost more than 0.25 of my hard earned karma (plurk karma that you gain gives user access to a number of exclusive icons on the microblogging network). However, the good news was most of my twitter and facebook friends appreciated my livetweets and realtime status updates.

So, next time you liveblog you might want to consider some of the following:

  • Decide on where you will blog. Using a blogging integrator software will be a good idea if you have a number of social networks or blogs to update in realtime (consider using tweetdeck, digsby among others).
  • Make sure you have a good internet connection.
  • Ensure you have the passion and presence of mind when the liveblogging event comes.
  • Practice on your typing skills!

4 thoughts on “Lessons learned from liveblogging

  1. Hi Jimbo,

    I guess it’s more like live microblogging… what you did. Yeah, a lot more convenient via Twitter/Plurk than trying to open up one’s self-hosted WordPress blog and saving/editing each tiny 140-character update… as the game progressed along…

    Try that the next time. Or live videoblogging. :P

    Signed,
    Nitpicking some fruit of a fruit-laden tree

  2. Oh yes, your karma WILL DROP if you plurk more than 30 messages.

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

