The Subic Rape Case


Remember I blogged about the custody issue on convicted rapist Smith, a member of the American military. I said I’m not a lawyer but based on reading the Visiting Forces Agreement, I think that Smith should be under Philippine jurisdiction.

I said I’m no lawyer, but now, I found a lawyer pointing out that I’m right. An article by former Philippine Senator Leticia Ramos-Shahani argued that there are 4 reasons why Smith should be in RP custody. She said that the issue is a matter of compliance to a treaty agreed by two sovereign countries. She pointed out on crystal clear provision of the VFA that Smith, the convicted rapist of a Filipina, should be held in a facility under Philippine jurisdiction. She also pointed out that the Philippines should be mindful of the other country’s duty in a any treaty that it enters (in this case, it was very concerned of its duty to the other country–talking about Filipino hospitality).

Now, should I say it this time–I TOLD YOU SO….

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

