CSR


So, what’s with the acronym?

It doesn’t stand for customer service representative or corporate social responsibility but it stands for a visual impairment, central serous chorioretinopathy also called central serous retinopathy. This is usually temporary albeit for a few months. According to contributors of Wikipedia, it affects males 20 to 50. The disorder is further described as

characterized by leakage of fluid in the central macula, which results in blurred or distorted vision (metamorphopsia). A blind or gray spot in the central vision is common, along with flashes of light (photopsia).

Doctors don’t know the cause nor treatment of this disorder but most sufferers recover from this disorder while others just have to manage to live with it. So, what’s with this post? Well, I’m not here to replace your medical blogger, Isagani. I have CSR. I was close to asking Isagani about this but I was able to visit my ophthalmologist anyway.

For me having CSR is a very inconvenient truth. Just as when I’m frequently driving my kids to school, just as I’m starting my PhD research, just at a time that I really need a very good pair of eyes.

To give you an idea of how it feels to have this, below is a beautiful picture of my daughters I took in Perth City. My right eye is working on this photo and this is how you would normally see things.

Below is a photo of how I can now see with my right eye.

Now try combining the two images, it is hard for me to manipulate another photo to show it to you as I’m far sighted now and I also have a hard time read without getting a headache and my color perception is almost nil.

But God is good, I still can “reset” my right eye sometimes, i.e., after scratching it, i.e., I get about a minute of temporary normalcy–as if I can see well in my right eye. Well, I’ve recently finished writing my seminar paper, though there are still revisions to follow, a seminar to prepare for and serious literature review/reading to attend to, I believe God will make a way for me to a complete healing and enable me continue to see God’s creation… 20/20

This morning I had undergone a flourescein angiography. The ophthalmologist was able to rule out any other serious reason for what is causing my CSR. So, it’s wait and see for me.

2 thoughts on “CSR

  1. I was searching for this kind of a blog for months now. Actually lost the hope of finding one, but here i am🙂 Thanks for the great articles! Looking forward for a little read after dinner🙂

  2. Hi funfacts thanks for visiting my blog. I’ve recently started blind spot, my blog on my CSR experience. I also aim to make Blind Spot a resource for people suffering with or interested on CSR.

    Cheers!🙂

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

