Are Filipinos being deceived?


I remember vividly how my ‘political awakening’ came into being. Ninoy Aquino’s arrival was on national TV. I was Grade 3 then, and then the gun shots. I could not believe my eyes that it was really happening but I remember my Dad trembling in anger of what they’ve done and pointing to a certain general speaking on TV looking so tense and shaking while explaining to the press that the former senator was assassinated and showing them the gun that was used.

I remember the Ninoy exhibits that went around the country, Kris was prominent in some of the photos of those exhibit (cute pa siya nun.🙂 ) and then the great EDSA revolution. Back then it was clear that the government was clearly ruled by the military, then EDSA II came, I participated fighting for what I believe was right without regard for my safety. We won.

As the Philippines celebrate the two EDSAs that made the country proud (though at some point some might have been embarrassed that we have to settle things the way we did but we were still proud) it’s becoming clear again who’s in power. Take a look at this Inquirer.net video

Do you spot any difference? Are we really democratically governed or is the government just a puppet of an elite group of fraternity brothers? Military Junta or a democratically elected civil servants? You tell me.

But in the midst of all these confusions, there’s one person who came up with a sensible suggestion after all the drama and the word war that happened in the previous weeks in Manila. Former Philippine President Fidel Ramos suggested to focus on reforms and not on ousting Arroyo, which is logical. I remember back in college, an activist friend told me that their group was told not to accept any offer from the University administration–‘any offer should be rejected, push for a revolution’ well, my memory might not have served me correctly on the exact words but the essence is to reject any proposition from the other camp. Without an alternative on hand, my friends group was just into the adrenalin of each mob (mobilization) that they organize and without a sight of what should the future be. Now back to the Philippines’ situation, I think with Ramos’ suggestion, there might just be a way forward for all of us.

Blogbastic

6 thoughts on “Are Filipinos being deceived?

  1. When Ninoy was killed, I didn’t realize its significance. The propaganda has made me believe that he is a communist and bad for the country. But politically naive as I was – there was no denying that the cover-up of his death is dragging the country into a spiral oblivion. It was never the same – after that. My first taste of activism is EDSA1. I had high hopes of reform back then. But after a series of coup and so much destabilization – I decided not to fight this war and left.

  2. Rommel thanks for visiting. I guess this this is a common sentiment among Filipinos who have tried hard to hope and fight for the best for their country–in the end, the conspiracy to plunder is just too much to bear that flight has become a painful but sometimes only choice for most of us.

  3. My fear does not lie anymore on whether Filipinos could rise up to the occasion and fight for what is right. We’ve done that so many times. We’ve participated in street demonstrations (and more of that), belted out reforms, we got what we wanted and then everything comes back to us. People in the positions sure do change, we get new leaders, but we get the same system every season. Nothing really changes. History is a recurring nightmare. But I am not losing hope, I just noticed that slowly I am becoming more less affected. Is that bad?

  4. hmmm…. watch out, watch out, you might end up being so callous that nothing will ever matter.🙂 well, if it is just an episode let it be, it should be good. I agree that it all boils down to the system that we had a chance to change during the first EDSA only to be deranged in celebrating our victory losing sight of what we should ultimately address in the first place (well, this is still a long debate and might be worthy of another post?!). As with other expats and OFWs, let’s just hope that the country’s so-called economic growth will be felt by the grassroots.

  5. some pundits say that we are People Power fatigue. Some even say, “weve had two PPs already, tama na”. Even GMA said, “the world will not forgive another People Power”.

    i do not understand this point. to me, it is simple laziness to wade through the issues and recognize what needs to done after. ang mali kasi natin, we forgone rebuilding democratic institutions after PPs 1 and 2. we were too starstrucked with our handyworks and overlooked that the very institutions na nasagasaan after the PPs, need to regain their constitutional focus.

    too me, although GMA deserves to get kicked in the curb, i admit that the conditions have not presented itself for her to step down. malayo pa un. matalino masyado yan. di tulad ni erap, mas madaling bumaba kasi medyo may pagka-simpleton.

  6. you hit the mark Lizbeth and I think I might have to agree with your observation that it might be a long way before she’s overthrown. it might be better for everyone to just be vigilant and prepare for her exit and present the better alternative (well, I wish it was that easy). I do hope everything will work out well for the country.

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

