Surprise, Makati Traffic Cops ask other than the regular


I can’t help but comment on this news in Makati where traffic cops ‘burns’ violators’ ticket and instead asks them to be eye donors. What a noble change indeed from the usual ticket ‘with a price.’

I had a very bad experience with Makati traffic enforcers (not necessarily cops, I suppose), when I violated a traffic regulation. I expected to be ticketed only to be told of an extravagant fine, which I’m not sure is true. They said that I have no choice but to just give them a ‘discounted’ fine of PhP500.00. It was early in the morning, about 1am, and we had to rush home to Quezon City as our kids were just with their nanny. So, despite not having much money in our bank account, the Makati City traffic enforcers accompanied us to the nearest ATM and made sure we withdrew the money. Later did I realize that what happened was very much like ‘huli-dap.

I hope things latest development is really a reflection of how things are changing in the Philippines.

Mag-iwan ng Tugon

